Cover image for Anglican Parish of Circular Head
Anglican Parish of Circular Head
Agency Number:
Start Date:
01 Jul 1910
The original name was the Parish of Smithton cum Balfour. 1 July 1983 The Parish of Smithton and the Parochial District of Stanley were amalgamated by Bishop Phillip K. Newell and was henceforth known as the Parish of Circular Head.

The Parish in 2016 includes St Stephens - Smithton, St Bartholomews - Forest, St Oswalds - Marrawah and St Pauls - Stanley. 

It has included churches at St John the Evangelist - Redpa, Roger River, South Forest, St Georges - Montagu, All Saints - Mawbanna (Black River), Arthur River, Temma Harbour, Robbins Island, Hellyer, Togari Community Hall. Parish boundaries affecting Mawbanna were changed 9 April 1950. Final services at All Saints, Irishtown was 29 April 1979. Final service at Mawbanna was 29 May 1993.
Information Sources:
"Our Heritage of Anglican Churches in Tasmania" by Dorothea I. Henslowe and Isa Hurburgh
Functions Performed:
Controlling Agencies:
Anglican Diocese of Tasmania (NG373)01 Jan 1809
Previous Agencies:
Anglican Parish of Stanley (NG884)01 Dec 184201 Jul 1983
Anglican Parish of Stanley (NG884)01 Dec 184201 Jul 1983

Anglican Parish of Smithton (NG3454)01 Apr 1911
Series Created By Agency:
NS5508 Register of Services03 Jul 189230 Jun 2002

NS2120 Register of Baptisms18 Jul 191006 May 2001

NS5499 Register of Services - Irishtown08 Jan 191129 Apr 1979

NS2121 Register of Marriages14 Nov 191129 Mar 1993

NS5504 Register of Services07 Jul 191223 Feb 1982

NS2119 Register of Burials25 Mar 191318 Nov 2002

NS5497 Register of Services - St Bartholomews, Forest07 Jan 191527 May 1990

NS5503 Register of Services15 Apr 192328 Jan 1990

NS5501 Register of Services22 Apr 197329 May 1993