Cover image for Esperance District Congregational Churches
Esperance District Congregational Churches
Agency Number:
Start Date:
01 Jan 1877
End Date:
01 Jan 1972
The Esperance District Congregational Church encompassed worshipers in the settlements of Dover, Southport, Strathblane, Hastings, Leprena, Lune River, Cockle Creek, Camden and Surges Bay. The church minister was based in Dover and held services in the smaller settlements.

The Dover Congregational Church was opened in 1877, occupying the recently built Albert Hall. The Hall was paid for by public subscription and built on land bequeathed to the local protestant community. Originally used by several denominations, it later became exclusively used by the Congregationalists.

(Note that in these records the names Esperance and Dover Church are used interchangeably to refer the church in the settlement of Dover. When referring to the wider area the term Esperance District is used.)

Information Sources:
Crocker, D. (2007) Dover Community Church - Celebrating 130 Years - 1877-2007, Dover: Far South Community Association Inc. ;;;;Crocker, D. (1977) Dover Congregational Church Centenary Booklet ;;
Functions Performed:
Congregational Union of Tasmania (NG586)01 Jan 183812 Jun 1977

Huon associated Congregational Churches (NG2422)01 Jan 186901 Jan 1972
Subsequent Agencies:
Dover Community Church (NG2420)01 Jan 1972