Cover image for Anglican Parish of St Peter's, Sandy Bay
Anglican Parish of St Peter's, Sandy Bay
Agency Number:
Start Date:
01 Jul 1951
End Date:
31 Dec 1998
In July 1951 it was resolved by the respective Vestries of St Peter's and St George's, and approved by the Bishop, to form a separate parish of St. Peter's Sandy Bay. Prior to this, in 1918, the Mariners' (or Seafarers) Church at Franklin Wharf, Hobart was taken apart, rebuilt in Sandy Bay, and consecrated as St Peter's Church on the 16th July.
The parish comprised St Peter's Church, Sandy Bay and from 1959 to 1995, St Edmund's Church, Mt Nelson. However, the church at Mt Nelson was not formally consecrated until July 1963 by Bishop Davies.
In 1998 the parishes of St. Peter's, Sandy Bay and St. John the Baptist, West Hobart were merged to form the new parish of Baywest.
Information Sources:
St Peter Church Parish minutes and registers of services, St Edmund's Church register of services.;;Copyright in all records retained by the Anglican Church, Diocese of Tasmania
Functions Performed:
Controlling Agencies:
Anglican Diocese of Tasmania (NG373)01 Jan 1809
Subsequent Agencies:
Anglican Parish of Baywest (NG2166)01 Jan 199831 Dec 2007