Cover image for Anglican Parish of Smithton
Anglican Parish of Smithton
Agency Number:
Start Date:
01 Apr 1911
The newly-ordained rector of the recently-formed parish of Smithton and Balfour, Rev. D. A. McEachern conducted a harvest festival service April 1911.

The foundation stone for St Stephen's - Smithton was laid in 1915. The church built in 1921 and consecrated in 1925.

St George's - Montagu, at first a schoolroom-cum-church, was consecrated by Bishop Bromby in April 1878. The windows, pulpit and prayer desk were first used in old St Paul's, Stanley.

The foundation stone at St Oswald's - Marrawah was laid in June 1933 and the church consecrated in November. Services previously were held in the Marrawah hall.

All Saints' at Irishtown was in Smithton parish until 1950.

Other congregations were at Lileah, Forest, South Forest, Brittons Swamp, Roger River, Rogerton, Trowutta, Edith Creek, Allen Creek, Nabageena, Leesville, Redpa, Mella, Broadmeadows, Upper Broadmeadows, Christmas Hill

The Parish of Smithton and the Parochial District of Stanley were provisionally amalgamated by Bishop Phillip K. Newell on 1 July 1983 and was henceforth known as the Parish of Circular Head.
Information Sources:
1911 'IRISHTOWN.', The North Western Advocate and the Emu Bay Times (Tas. : 1899 - 1919), 19 April, p. 2.
Controlling Agencies:
Anglican Diocese of Tasmania (NG373)01 Jan 1809
Anglican Parish of Stanley (NG884)01 Dec 184201 Jul 1983

Anglican Parish of Circular Head (NG2140)01 Jul 1910
Series Created By Agency:
NS5508 Register of Services03 Jul 189230 Jun 2002

NS5502 Register of Services01 Jan 191103 Apr 1941

NS5499 Register of Services - Irishtown08 Jan 191129 Apr 1979

NS5500 Register of Services26 May 191116 Oct 1940

NS5504 Register of Services07 Jul 191223 Feb 1982

NS5503 Register of Services15 Apr 192328 Jan 1990

NS6508 Plan and Specification for Church at Marrawah01 Jan 193131 Dec 1931