Cover image for Anglican Parish of Stanley
Anglican Parish of Stanley
Agency Number:
Start Date:
01 Dec 1842
End Date:
01 Jul 1983
From 1842 until 1910 the parish was known as the Parish of Stanley, and then became the Parish of Circular Head covering centres in Stanley, Mawbanna (Black River), South Road, Montagu, Irishtown, Rocky Cape, Marrawah, Woolnorth. It was the Parish of Smithton and Stanley from ? until 1983 when it became the Parish of Circular Head once more.
As of 2016, the Parish of Circular Head had churches at Smithton, Forest, Marrawah and Stanley.
Information Sources:
"Our Heritage of Anglican Churches in Tasmania" by Dorothea I. Henslowe and Isa Hurburgh, Diocesan Council minutes of Synod;;
Functions Performed:
Controlling Agencies:
Anglican Diocese of Tasmania (NG373)01 Jan 1809
Subsequent Agencies:
Anglican Parish of Circular Head (NG2140)01 Jul 1910