Cover image for Commissioners of Survey ( Land Commissioners for Van Diemen's Land) - (Land Grants)
Commissioners of Survey ( Land Commissioners for Van Diemen's Land) - (Land Grants)
Agency Number:
Start Date:
01 Jan 1826
End Date:
31 Dec 1832
In July 1825, Lord Bathurst, the Secretary of State, issued the Royal Commission to Sir Ralph Darling as Governor-in-Chief of New South Wales to prepare for a system of land sales by appointing Commissioners of Survey to subdivide territory and value Crown land in each settled district. These directions were transmitted to Lieutenant-Governor Arthur, who reported to Bathurst next March that, with the approval of his Executive Council, he had chosen Edward Dumaresq, Peter Murdoch and Roderic O'Connor to survey the island of Van Diemen's Land. Their appointment as Commissioners of Survey was registered in the Colonial Secretary's Office, and their instructions including, among other things, the submission of monthly Journals, were issued by the Lieutenant-Governor. 
These Journals are to be found in the records of the Colonial Secretary's Office. Journals 1 to 14 in CSO1/1/279 file 6714; Journal 2A in CSO1/1/218/5242; Appendix A in CSO1/1/850/17974; Appendix B in CSO1/1/218/5242; Appendix C in CSO1/1/285/6777; Appendix D in CSO1/1/336/7701 and Appendix E in CSO1/1/278/6714.
Information Sources:
Preface to "Journals of the Land Commissioners for Van Diemen's Land 1826 - 1828 " published by the University of Tasmania in conjunction with THRA - 1962 - edited by Anne McKay.
Legislation Creating:
Instructions issued 1826 - See GO 33/1 p.356 ff.
Colonial Secretary's Office (1) (TA151)01 Jan 182531 Dec 1856

Colonial Secretary's Office (2) (TA152)01 Jan 185731 Dec 1882