Cover image for Department of Education, Training, Community and Cultural Development
Department of Education, Training, Community and Cultural Development
Agency Number:
Start Date:
06 May 1998
End Date:
18 Sep 1998
The range of educational services provided by the Department of Education, Community and Cultural Development was expanded by amalgamating it with the Department of Vocational Education and Training. Following a change of government later in the year virtually all educational services in the state were brought under the control of the Department, which was divested of its cultural and community development roles. The Tasmanian Arts Advisory Board, the Trustees of the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery and the Office of Sport and Recreation were transferred to the newly created Department of State Development. The Offices of the Status of Women, Multicultural and Ethnic Affairs, and Aboriginal Affairs all returned to the Department of Premier and Cabinet.~
Legislation Administered:
Statutory Rules 1998 No. 40 p.347
Legislation Creating:
Statutory Rules 1998 No. 38
Controlled Agencies:
Sandy Bay Infant School (TA1318)01 Jan 1837

Campbell Town School (TA1135)01 Jan 1840

Bridgewater Primary School (TA1127)01 Jan 184731 Dec 2008

Kempton Primary School (TA1395)01 Jan 1854

Dover School (TA1164)01 Jan 1855

St Leonards Primary School (TA1316)01 Jan 1859

Avoca State School (TA1116)01 Mar 186001 Jan 2020

Hagley Farm School (TA1456)01 Jan 1865

Sassafras Primary School (TA872)01 Jan 1867

Lilydale District School (TA1236)01 Jan 1871

Geeveston School (TA1520)01 Jan 1880

Penguin Primary School (TA1288)01 Jan 1882

Franklin State School (TA1183)01 Jan 1885

Invermay Primary School (TA1464)01 Jan 1889

East Devonport School. (TA1033)01 Jan 1890

Somerset Primary School (TA1333)01 Jan 1893

Strahan State School (TA1345)07 Sep 1896

Wesley Vale School. (TA1479)01 Jan 189731 Dec 2013

George Town School (TA1187)01 Jan 1900

Ravenswood Primary School (TA1302)01 Jan 190031 Dec 1996

Spreyton Primary School (TA1342)01 Jan 1900

Swansea State School (TA1347)01 Jan 1900

Levendale Primary School (TA1234)01 Jan 190131 Dec 2013

Lindisfarne Primary School (TA1705)01 Jan 1904

Molesworth Primary School (TA1702)01 Jan 1906

Branxholm Primary School (TA1396)01 Jan 191031 Dec 2010

New Norfolk Primary School (TA1273)01 Jan 1912

Albuera Street School (TA1114)01 Jan 1915

Bridport Primary School (TA1398)01 Jan 1915

Lansdowne Crescent School (TA1226)01 Jan 1916

Yolla School. (TA1433)01 Jan 1916

Huonville School (TA1216)01 Jan 1920

Westerway School (TA1497)01 Jan 1920

Rocherlea Primary School (TA1443)01 Jan 192131 Dec 2012

Princes Street Primary School (TA1298)01 Jan 1922

Upper Burnie School (TA1429)02 Mar 192531 Dec 2010

Gladstone Primary School (TA1188)01 Jan 1926

Moriarty Primary School (TA1262)06 Feb 192831 Dec 2013

Montagu Bay Primary School (TA1595)01 Jan 1933

Bicheno State School (TA1446)01 Jan 1939

Kingston Primary School (TA1511)01 Jan 1943

State Library of Tasmania (TA34)01 Jan 194331 Oct 2006

Brooks High School (TA1463)01 Jan 1948

Reece High School (TA1304)01 Jan 1949

St Marys District High School (TA1442)01 Jan 1949

Trustees of the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery (TA929)29 Nov 1950

Deloraine High School (TA1158)01 Jan 1952

St Helens District High School (TA1445)01 Jan 1952

East Ravenswood Primary School (TA1448)01 Jan 195431 Dec 1996

Mayfield Primary School (TA1449)01 Jan 1954

Warrane High School (TA1370)01 Jan 1957

Taroona High School (TA1350)01 Jan 1958

Clarence High School. (TA1424)01 Jan 1959

Queechy High School (TA1418)01 Jan 1959

Waverley Primary School (TA1373)01 Jan 1959

Kings Meadows High School (TA1224)01 Jan 1960

Lindisfarne North Primary School (TA1703)01 Jan 1960

New Town High School (TA1275)01 Jan 1962

George Town High School (TA1408)01 Jan 1965

Norwood Primary School (TA1447)01 Jan 1965

Archives Office of Tasmania (TA380)22 Dec 1965

Hobart College (TA1211)01 Jan 196631 Dec 2008

Murray High School (TA1268)01 Jan 1966

Ouse District School (TA1283)01 Jan 1966

Launceston College (TA2019)01 Jan 196731 Dec 2008

Savage River District High School (TA1320)01 Jan 1967

Elizabeth College (TA1172)01 Jan 196831 Dec 2009

Acton Primary School (TA1473)01 Jan 196931 Dec 2010

Mowbray Heights Primary School (TA1465)01 Jan 1969

Strathgordon School (TA1499)01 Jan 1969

Rosebery District School (TA1510)01 Jan 1970

Scottsdale High School (TA1324)01 Jan 1970

Scottsdale Primary School (TA1718)01 Jan 1970

South George Town Primary School (TA1476)01 Jan 1972

Rosny College (TA1954)01 Jan 197331 Dec 2009

Ravenswood High School (TA1597)01 Jan 197431 Dec 1996

Tasmanian Arts Advisory Board (TA317)09 Jun 197501 Jan 2018

Office of Ethnic and Multicultural Affairs (TA1513)01 Jan 1977

Don College (TA1161)01 Jan 198031 Dec 2008

Hellyer College (TA1204)01 Jan 198031 Dec 2008

Tasmanian Institute of Sport (TA1584)01 Jan 1985

Exeter High School (TA1400)05 Nov 1985

Office of Aboriginal Affairs (TA1557)01 Jul 1989

Office of the Status of Women (TA1556)17 Jul 1989

Claremont College (TA1143)01 Jan 199031 Dec 2009

Timsbury Road School (TA1354)01 Jan 1991

Smithton High School (TA1331)01 Jan 1994

Tafe Tasmania (TA1532)01 Mar 199431 Dec 2008

Tasmanian State Training Authority (TA1401)02 Nov 199431 Dec 2004

Office of Sport and Recreation (TA1558)27 Mar 199609 Aug 2002
Series Created By Agency:
ED183 General Correspondence (4)23 Apr 190621 Jul 2010

AF818 Research Notes about Schools in Tasmania01 Jan 195731 Dec 2008