Cover image for Commissioners of Fisheries
Commissioners of Fisheries
Agency Number:
Start Date:
28 Oct 1889
End Date:
11 Dec 1925
The Commissioners of Fisheries were appointed under the Fisheries Act 1889 to superintend the management and protection of all the fisheries in the colony including shell fish, crustaceans, seals and all other fish. Part of the function had previously been undertaken by the superintendent & inspector of fish in the Chief Secretary's Department. After about 1895 the Commissioners became financially self-supporting but continued to depend on the police force for enforcing their regulations.

The Commission they constituted was abolished under the Fisheries Act 1925 which separated inland and sea fisheries into the Salmon & Freshwater Fisheries Commission and the Sea Fisheries Board respectively.
Information Sources:
'A Guide to Tasmanian Government Administration' by RL Wettenhall
Legislation Administered:
Fisheries Act 1889
Legislation Creating:
Fisheries Act 1889
Legislation Abolishing Agency:
Fisheries Act 1925
Controlling Agencies:
Chief Secretary's Office/department (TA153)01 Jan 188231 Dec 1946

Office of the Minister for Agriculture (TA990)01 Jan 189901 Jan 1975
Previous Agencies:
Salmon Commissioners (TA45)01 Jan 186131 Dec 1889

Chief Secretary's Office/department (TA153)01 Jan 188231 Dec 1946
Subsequent Agencies:
Salmon & Freshwater Fisheries Commission (TA46)11 Dec 192518 Dec 1959

Sea Fisheries Board (TA47)11 Dec 192531 Dec 1941
Series Created By Agency:
AA377 Letterbook of the Secretary to the Commissioners.16 Nov 189902 Nov 1908