Cover image for Department of Education and the Arts
Department of Education and the Arts
Agency Number:
Start Date:
17 Jul 1989
End Date:
27 Mar 1996
The Department was formed by almagamating the Education Department and the State Library. From 1 Jul 1990 the Trustees of the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery came under the administrative direction of the Department. The extension of the community role of the Department in 1996 led to a change of name.
Legislation Administered:
Advanced Education Act 1989, Allport Library and Fine Arts Museum Agreement Act 1966, Archives Act 1983, Christ College Act 1926, Education Act 1932(except in so far as it relates to: the constitution and function of the Schools Board of Tasmania; the administration of technical and further education; and the administration of adult education). Education (Retention of Schools) Act 1989, Education (Teachers Federation) Act 1974, Hobart Free Kindergarten Union Act 1960, Hutchins School Act 1911, Libraries Act 1984, Meteorites Act 1973, Migrant Teachers (Financial Assistance) Act 1964, Museums (Aboriginal Remains) Act 1984, Tasmanian Arts Advisory Board Act 1975, Tasmanian Museum Act 1950, Tasmanian Orchestra (Continuation) Act 1951, Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra (Financial Assistance) Acts 1982 and 1987, Tasmanian University Act 1951, Theatre Royal Management Act 1986, West Coast Pioneers' Memorial Museum Act 1965..
Legislation Creating:
Statutory Rules 1989 No. 114
Controlled Agencies:
Sorell School (TA1335)01 Jan 1821

Richmond Primary School (TA1307)01 Jan 1835

Sandy Bay Infant School (TA1318)01 Jan 1837

Campbell Town School (TA1135)01 Jan 1840

Cressy State School (TA1150)01 Jan 184331 Dec 1990

Bridgewater Primary School (TA1127)01 Jan 184731 Dec 2008

Kempton Primary School (TA1395)01 Jan 1854

Dover School (TA1164)01 Jan 1855

Torquay Public School. (TA1506)01 Jan 185631 Mar 1858

Latrobe School (TA1228)01 Jan 1858

St Leonards Primary School (TA1316)01 Jan 1859

Avoca State School (TA1116)01 Mar 186001 Jan 2020

Hagley Farm School (TA1456)01 Jan 1865

Sassafras Primary School (TA872)01 Jan 1867

Ulverstone Primary School (TA1362)01 Jan 187031 Dec 1995

Lilydale District School (TA1236)01 Jan 1871

Mole Creek State (Area) School (TA1256)01 Jan 1879

Geeveston School (TA1520)01 Jan 1880

Penguin Primary School (TA1288)01 Jan 1882

Charles Street School (TA1139)01 Jan 188531 Dec 1990

Franklin State School (TA1183)01 Jan 1885

Invermay Primary School (TA1464)01 Jan 1889

East Devonport School. (TA1033)01 Jan 1890

Somerset Primary School (TA1333)01 Jan 1893

Strahan State School (TA1345)07 Sep 1896

Wesley Vale School. (TA1479)01 Jan 189731 Dec 2013

Devonport Primary School (TA1160)01 Jan 189831 Dec 1990

Judbury Primary School (TA1219)01 Jan 189931 Dec 1992

George Town School (TA1187)01 Jan 1900

Preston Primary School (TA1297)01 Jan 190031 Dec 1994

Ravenswood Primary School (TA1302)01 Jan 190031 Dec 1996

Spreyton Primary School (TA1342)01 Jan 1900

Swansea State School (TA1347)01 Jan 1900

Levendale Primary School (TA1234)01 Jan 190131 Dec 2013

Lindisfarne Primary School (TA1705)01 Jan 1904

Molesworth Primary School (TA1702)01 Jan 1906

Tullah Primary School (TA1360)01 Jan 190631 Dec 1991

Branxholm Primary School (TA1396)01 Jan 191031 Dec 2010

New Norfolk Primary School (TA1273)01 Jan 1912

Summerdale State School (TA1346)01 Jan 1914

Albuera Street School (TA1114)01 Jan 1915

Bridport Primary School (TA1398)01 Jan 1915

Lansdowne Crescent School (TA1226)01 Jan 1916

Yolla School. (TA1433)01 Jan 1916

Grassy Primary School (TA1196)01 Jan 191831 Dec 1990

Preolenna State School (TA1296)01 Jan 191931 Dec 1992

Glenora School (TA1192)01 Jan 192031 Dec 1995

Huonville School (TA1216)01 Jan 1920

Westerway School (TA1497)01 Jan 1920

Rocherlea Primary School (TA1443)01 Jan 192131 Dec 2012

Princes Street Primary School (TA1298)01 Jan 1922

Dora Turner Special School (TA1163)01 Jan 192431 Dec 1990

Glen Dhu Infant School (TA1190)01 Jan 192531 Dec 1991

Upper Burnie School (TA1429)02 Mar 192531 Dec 2010

Gladstone Primary School (TA1188)01 Jan 1926

Moriarty Primary School (TA1262)06 Feb 192831 Dec 2013

Wivenhoe Primary School (TA1383)01 Jan 193231 Dec 1992

Montagu Bay Primary School (TA1595)01 Jan 1933

Bicheno State School (TA1446)01 Jan 1939

Kingston Primary School (TA1511)01 Jan 1943

State Library of Tasmania (TA34)01 Jan 194331 Oct 2006

Schools Board of Tasmania (TA158)31 Oct 194401 Jul 1995

Brooks High School (TA1463)01 Jan 1948

Reece High School (TA1304)01 Jan 1949

Rossarden Primary School (TA1314)01 Jan 194931 Dec 1992

St Marys District High School (TA1442)01 Jan 1949

Myrtle Park Primary School (TA1598)01 Jan 195031 Dec 1997

Trustees of the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery (TA929)29 Nov 1950

Deloraine High School (TA1158)01 Jan 1952

St Helens District High School (TA1445)01 Jan 1952

King Island District High School (TA1223)01 Jan 195331 Dec 1990

Poimena Students' Hostel (TA1821)14 Nov 195314 Dec 1992

East Ravenswood Primary School (TA1448)01 Jan 195431 Dec 1996

Mayfield Primary School (TA1449)01 Jan 1954

Mount Stuart Primary School (TA1266)01 Jan 1956

St Martins School (TA1317)01 Jan 195731 Dec 1997

Warrane High School (TA1370)01 Jan 1957

Barclay Pre-School (TA1118)01 Jan 195831 Dec 1992

Taroona High School (TA1350)01 Jan 1958

Clarence High School. (TA1424)01 Jan 1959

Poatina Primary School (TA1292)01 Jan 195931 Dec 1991

Queechy High School (TA1418)01 Jan 1959

Waverley Primary School (TA1373)01 Jan 1959

D'alton School (TA1155)01 Jan 196031 Dec 1990

Kings Meadows High School (TA1224)01 Jan 1960

Lindisfarne North Primary School (TA1703)01 Jan 1960

Wynyard High School. (TA1393)01 Jan 196031 Dec 1994

Rose Bay High School (TA1313)01 Jan 1961

New Town High School (TA1275)01 Jan 1962

Reekara Primary School (TA1306)01 Jan 196331 Dec 1992

George Town High School (TA1408)01 Jan 1965

Norwood Primary School (TA1447)01 Jan 1965

Archives Office of Tasmania (TA380)22 Dec 1965

Hobart College (TA1211)01 Jan 196631 Dec 2008

Murray High School (TA1268)01 Jan 1966

Ouse District School (TA1283)01 Jan 1966

West Park School. (TA1394)01 Jan 196621 Feb 2000

Trinity House Matriculation Girls' Hostel (TA1359)01 Nov 1966

Launceston College (TA2019)01 Jan 196731 Dec 2008

Savage River District High School (TA1320)01 Jan 1967

Elizabeth College (TA1172)01 Jan 196831 Dec 2009

Acton Primary School (TA1473)01 Jan 196931 Dec 2010

Mornington Primary School (TA1263)01 Jan 196931 Dec 1991

Mowbray Heights Primary School (TA1465)01 Jan 1969

Strathgordon School (TA1499)01 Jan 1969

Rosebery District School (TA1510)01 Jan 1970

Scottsdale High School (TA1324)01 Jan 1970

Scottsdale Primary School (TA1718)01 Jan 1970

South George Town Primary School (TA1476)01 Jan 1972

Rosny College (TA1954)01 Jan 197331 Dec 2009

Flagstaff Primary School (TA1179)01 Jan 197431 Dec 1991

Ravenswood High School (TA1597)01 Jan 197431 Dec 1996

Mangana Special School (TA1246)01 Jan 197531 Dec 1993

Tasmanian Arts Advisory Board (TA317)09 Jun 197501 Jan 2018

Penguin High School (TA1409)01 Jan 197731 Dec 2012

West Coast Community College (TA2190)01 Jan 197731 Dec 1990

Don College (TA1161)01 Jan 198031 Dec 2008

Hellyer College (TA1204)01 Jan 198031 Dec 2008

Ogilvie Girls' Hostel (TA1830)10 Dec 1980

Hillcrest Primary School. (TA1480)01 Jan 198131 Dec 1991

Launceston College/institute of Technical & Further Education (TA1534)01 Jan 198431 Dec 1997

Exeter High School (TA1400)05 Nov 1985

Kamarah Hostel (TA1823)18 Feb 1987

Claremont College (TA1143)01 Jan 199031 Dec 2009

Timsbury Road School (TA1354)01 Jan 1991

Smithton High School (TA1331)01 Jan 1994
Previous Agencies:
Education Department (TA63)01 Jan 188617 Jul 1989