Cover image for Department of Lands, Parks and Wildlife
Department of Lands, Parks and Wildlife
Agency Number:
Start Date:
01 May 1987
End Date:
17 Jul 1989
To manage the Crown Estate, maintain survey and related records, provide research services, provide a valuation and real estate advisory service, manage the State's National Parks, Reserves and Wildlife resources, conduct scientific research, prepare management plans and provide advice on land-use policy.

The Department was created by amalgamating the Lands Department and the National Parks and Wildlife Service. The latter maintained a distinct identity in the new Department as the Land Management Division. 

As part of a general reorganisation of the Tasmanian State Service on 17 July 1989 the Department was separated into (roughly) its original constituents. The Land Management Division became the new Department of Parks, Wildlife and Heritage. The rest of the Department was amalgamated with the bulk of the Department of the Environment to form the Department of Environment and Planning. The Public Offices Committee Secretariat was transferred to the new Department of Administrative Services.
Legislation Administered:
Abandoned Lands Act 1973, Aboriginal Relics Act 1975, Boundary Fences Act 1908, Crown Lands Act 1976, Crown Lands (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 1985, Crown Lands (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 1986, Department of Lands and Surveys Act 1970, Government House Land Act 1964, Ida Bay Railway Act 1977, Land Reclamation Act 1886, Land Surveyors Act 1909, Land Valuation Act 1971, Lands Building Agreement Act 1978, Lands Clauses Act 1857, Lands Resumption Act 1957, Marine Board of Launceston Sub-letting Act 1918, Mersey Marine Board Reclamation of Lands Act 1910, National Parks and Florentine Valley Act 1950, National Parks and Wildlife Act 1970, National Trust of Australia (Tasmania) Act 1975, Port of Hobart reclamation Acts 1954 and 1958, Public Authorities' Land Acquisition Act 1949, Renison Limited (Zeehan Lands) Acts 1964 and 1970, Renison Limited (Zeehan and Renison Bell Lands) Act 1974, Self's Point Land Act 1951, Survey Coordination Act 1944, Tamar Improvement Act 1912, Tasmanian International Velodrome Management Authority Act 1984, Valuers Registration Act 1974.
Legislation Creating:
Statutory Rules 1987 Number 78.
Legislation Abolishing Agency:
administrative action
Previous Agencies:
Lands Department (TA902)23 Dec 197001 May 1987

National Parks and Wildlife Service (TA26)01 Nov 197101 May 1987
Series Created By Agency:
AF721 Town Maps01 Jan 182531 Dec 1997

AB567 General Correspondence [3].01 Jan 184231 Jul 2002

AF820 Printed Land District Charts01 Jan 190031 Dec 1990

AF819 Printed Town Charts01 Jan 190031 Dec 1990

AG83 Plans of Developments by Parks and Wildlife Service25 Nov 193823 Dec 2005

AA622 Logbooks of Huts on Walking Tracks.01 Jan 194031 Dec 2002

AD918 Nominal Index to Property Files.01 Jan 194031 Dec 1989

AD920 Register of Property Files.01 Jan 194031 Dec 1994

AD919 Subject Index to Property Files.01 Jan 194031 Dec 1989

LSD399 General Correspondence [2].01 Jan 194331 Dec 1991

AC253 Ministerial Correspondences01 Jan 197131 Dec 1988

AB786 National Estate Grants Program Files.01 Jan 197331 Jul 2000

AF52 Macquarie Island Field Notes07 Dec 197310 Mar 1997

AE747 Snow Surveys01 Jan 197631 Dec 1992

AF53 Tasmanian Field Notes12 Dec 198631 Dec 1987