Cover image for Department of Environment and Planning
Department of Environment and Planning
Agency Number:
Start Date:
17 Jul 1989
End Date:
02 Feb 1993
Protect the environment. Manage the Crown Estate. Maintain survey records and provide search facilities. Provide a valuation and real estate advisory service. Register land transactions. Plan land use. Advise and assist local government. The Department of Environment and Planning was created on 17 July 1989 by amalgamating the various government agencies with responsibility for environmental issues and the control and management of land. In addition to the former Department of the Environment this included the Land Management Division of the Department of Lands, Parks and Wildlife, the Local Government Office and the Town and Country Planning Commission from the Department of Premier and Cabinet and the Registrar General's Division (though not the Registrar of Births, Deaths and Marriages) from the Law Department. On 18 February 1992, following a change of Government, the Local Government Office was transferred to Department of Construction. On 2 February 1993 the Department of Environment and Planning was amalgamated with the Department of Parks, Wildlife and Heritage to create the Department of Environment and Land Management.
Legislation Administered:
Abandoned Lands Act 1973 (from 1992), Boundary Fences Act 1908, Chloroflurorocarbons and Other Ozone Depleting Susbstances Control Act 1988, Conveyancing and Law of Property Act 1884, Crown Lands Act 1936, Crown Lands (Miscellaneous Provisions) Acts 1985, 1986 & 1988, Crown Lands (Miscellaneous Amendments) Act 1989, Environment Protection Act 1973, Environment Protection (Sea Dumping) Act 1987, Government House Land Act 1964, Ida Bay Railway Act 1977, King Island Community Hotel Act 1966, Land Reclamation Act 1886, Land Surveyors Act 1909, Land Titles Act 1980, Land Valuation Act 1971, Lands Building Agreement Act 1978, Lands Clauses Act 1857, Lands Resumption Act 1957, Litter Act 1973, Local Government Act 1962 [Only in so far as it relates to Town and Country Planning and building estates and sub-divisions.], Marine Board of Launceston Sub-letting Act 1918, Mersey Marine Board Reclamation of Lands Act 1910, Pollution of Waters By Oil and Noxious Substances Act 1987, Public Authorities' Land Acquisition Act 1949, Public Trusts Act 1882, Registration of Deeds Act 1935, Renison Limited (Zeehan and Renison Bell Lands) Act 1974, Renison Limited (Zeehan Lands) Acts 1964 & 1970, Self's Point Land Act 1951, Silicon Development Act 1986 [Repealed 1991], Silicon Development Act (Repeal) Act 1991, Survey Co-ordination Act 1944, Tamar Improvement Act 1912, Valuers Registration Act 1974, Until 18 February 1992 additional legislation was committed to this Department and administered by the Local Government Office.
Legislation Creating:
Previous Agencies:
Department of the Environment (TA349)01 Nov 197217 Jul 1989

Law Department (TA373)15 Mar 198317 Jul 1989

Department of the Premier and Cabinet (TA251)01 Feb 198517 Jul 1989

Department of Lands, Parks and Wildlife (TA901)01 May 198717 Jul 1989
Subsequent Agencies:
Department of Construction (2) (TA909)18 Aug 198303 Feb 1993

Department of Environment and Land Management (TA1018)02 Feb 199318 Sep 1998
Series Created By Agency:
AF721 Town Maps01 Jan 182531 Dec 1997

AB567 General Correspondence [3].01 Jan 184231 Jul 2002

AF820 Printed Land District Charts01 Jan 190031 Dec 1990

AF819 Printed Town Charts01 Jan 190031 Dec 1990

AD920 Register of Property Files.01 Jan 194031 Dec 1994

LSD399 General Correspondence [2].01 Jan 194331 Dec 1991

AC248 General Correspondence on Environmental Issues.01 Jan 196731 Dec 1990

AC250 Licence Files for Scheduled Premises.01 Jan 197031 Dec 1992

AC249 Industry Files.01 Jan 197131 Dec 1990

AB786 National Estate Grants Program Files.01 Jan 197331 Jul 2000

AC252 Licences to Transport Industrial Wastes and Sewage.01 Jan 198531 Dec 1990

AF287 Conservation Reports01 Jan 199231 Dec 1992