Cover image for Department of Justice (1)
Department of Justice (1)
Agency Number:
Start Date:
17 Jul 1989
End Date:
18 Sep 1998
As part of a re-organisation of the Tasmanian State Service the bulk of the Law Department was amalgamated with the Supreme Court and Sheriff's Department and the Office of the Parliamentary Counsel to create the Department of Justice. 
Regulation of companies was transferred to the Commonwealth on 1 January 1991. 

On 18 February 1992, following a change of Government, the Tasmanian Industrial Commission became part of Justice (but returned to Employment, Industrial Relations and Training on 18 August). The Office of Consumer Affairs (from the abolished Department of Administrative Services and Consumer Affairs) and the Corrective Services Division of the Department of Community Services were also transferred to Justice on that date.

On 27 March 1996 the Freedom of Information Unit (from the Department of Premier and Cabinet) and the Sex Discrimination Commissioner (from the Office of the Status of Women in the Department of Tourism) were transferred to the Department of Justice.

On 18 September 1998 those parts of the Department of Premier and Cabinet dealing with industrial relations (the Tasmanian Industrial Commission, the Office of the Enterprise Commissioner and the Industrial Relations Branch) and the Workers Rehabilitation and Compensation Tribunal from the Workplace Standards Authority, were amalgamated with Justice to form a new Department of Justice and Industrial Relations.
Legislation Administered:
Statutory Rules 1990 No. 109 pp.401-405. See also the lists of legislation administered by agencies controlled by the Department.
Legislation Creating:
Statutory Rules 1989 No. 114
Legislation Abolishing Agency:
Administrative action